MS. MIERDA

Hello beautiful people,

I had an interesting subbing assignment this week, I had to cover middle school ESL classes.

Teaching middle school is hard enough.

SUBBING middle school is even harder.

ESL AT THE MIDDLE SCHOOL LEVEL????? Well, it’s just cruel.

I actually started the day off bright-eyed and bushy-tailed.  Work was going well these week, I was even HAPPY to have an extra school assignment, eager to tackle the day. It was first period, and I was writing my name on the board.  The students were being typical pre-pubescent teenagers, and pretending not to notice or understand that I was attempting to start class.

Finally, I got their attention.

I introduced myself.

They asked me what my name was.

I introduced myself again.

They continued to say things to me, many of them yelling in Spanish and English.

Then, one of the students, we’ll call him Mark, who was sitting in the front row, said:

“Her name is Ms. Mierda.”

MIERDA.

For those of you who still need a translation, MIERDA is the word for SH*T in Spanish.

Yes, you got that right….I was called MS. SH*T by a twelve-year-old at 7:30 am.

What a way to start the day.

xo

Ms. Sub

3 Comments

Filed under Disrespectful, Education

3 responses to “MS. MIERDA

  1. Wow. Sorry you had a bad day. I’m so thankful that I was raised to respect my elders and peers. This kind of language would have giving me two weeks with no electronics!

    -MTO

    • Thank you for your kind words! It’s nice to know that some people still have the same thoughts and values that I was raised with, there’s hope for future generations. 🙂
      xo
      Ms. Sub

  2. Your blog post caught my eye because I speak Spanish…oh, I am sorry to say that if I heard your introduction, then I would have had a giggle as well…and I am waaaaaaay past 12 years old! Poor you, I hope things get better with the class.

Leave a Reply

