The week from hell has a new meaning…

Hello Beautiful People,

I promised I’d update you on the horrendous week I had, and, well, here goes it. As many of you know, I had a student light a pencil on fire.  If this does not ring a bell with you, please refer to our FIRE entry. IN ADDITION to children lighting objects on fire for no apparent reason, I had a student call me a “stupid b##ch” on Monday, and, on Wednesday, I was told, “f%$k you”.

Isn’t that NICE?

AREN’T THEY CHERUBIC?

I’m not going to sit here and rant about my students, that is not my attention.  Children will always lash out, that’s why they’re CHILDREN.

I WILL rant about the reaction that I got from my co-workers:

“Oh, he always calls me that.”

“Oh, he says that all the time.”

“I mean, it’s an “alternative” program, what do you expect?”

WHAT DO I EXPECT?!?!?!?!??!?!?!!?

I’ll tell you what I expect. I expect us to teach them what their parents apparently didn’t.  I expect us to teach them the RIGHT WAY TO TALK TO PEOPLE.  I expect us, to at LEAST TRY to right the wrongs here. That’s what I expect.  I don’t care if I’m teaching in an alternative school, regular school, college…I don’t care if they’re receiving their education in JAIL.  I expect us to educate, and to teach right from wrong.  That’s what I expect, and that is what I will do, despite the eye-rolling I get from those around me.  They’ll ask me why I bother…and do you KNOW WHAT MY RESPONSE WILL BE?

……..because I’m a teacher. 

xo

Ms. Sub

2 Comments

Filed under Disrespectful, Education, Perspective, the future

2 responses to “The week from hell has a new meaning…

  1. Good for you! I’m sure it’s tough in that environment but you definitely have a positive attitude! Thank you for visiting me on my SITS Day! Come back anytime, please. And, I hope you are able to use some of these prompts; they have certainly been helpful to me.

    • Thank you! I definitely will, and be sure to check out the “sister” site of Tales of Substitution, “The Write Teacher”, also on wordpress! Congrats on your SITS day again! #LiveLoveLearn

Leave a Reply

