Elle Marie

Picture it –

It’s second period.

There’s an in-school conference going on, so my fellow substitute, (Denise), and I are covering a ninth grade class.

There’s a simple assignment for the rowdy bunch – READ. QUIETLY…. and nobody gets hurt. HA.

Do they listen?

Nahhhhh.

And one little cherubic freshman proved to be more of a problem than the rest.

Elle Marie, well, she decided that she was too good to be in class.  She NEEDED to go talk to another teacher in the school. It was an emergency  you see.  So she asked Denise, (who is by far MUCH nicer than I am).  Correction – she didn’t ASK Denise if she could go, she DEMANDED that she was allowed to go.  I then called down to the teacher that Elle Marie NEEDEd to go to, to see if he was avaiable to talk to this lovely student.  He told me to send her down, but to also stress to her that he only had ten minutes, and then she would have to go to class.  I relayed the message, and Elle Marie walked out of the class as Denise was writing her a pass.  Such a sweet, well-manered, lovely child.

Roughly 20 MINUTES LATER….

Mr. P calls, (the teacher who Elle Marie needed to say).  He wants to know when the hell I’m going to send Elle Marie down, cause he needs to go to the conference.  SEND HER DOWN?!?!?!??! I SENT HER DOWN 20 MINUTES AGO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WHERE IS THIS CHILD?

5 MINUTES BEFORE THE END OF THE PERIOD….

Elle Marie decides to grace us with her presence.  She just waltzes into the class, as if she’s done nothing wrong.  Denise and I tell her to come over to the desk….

MS. M

Elle Marie, I’m going to give you thirty seconds to tell us why you think we’re upset with you.

ELLE MARIE

WHAT. I didn’t do anything.

MS. M

REALLY??!?!??! So you were where you were supposed to be?

ELLE MARIE

She glares at us.  And then proceeds to tell us…

I needed to go see another teacher! Ok? So get off my back. You guys need to freaking relax.

MS. M

Naturally my blood pressure starts to boil. RELAX?!?!?!? DID THIS CHILD JUST TELL TWO ADULTS, TWO EDUCATORS TO RELAX?!?!?!?

Well Elle Marie, just tell us who the other teacher was, and all’s  forgiven..

ELLE MARIE

NO, I don’t have to, and you can’t tell me what to do.  Seriously you people need to chill out.

MS. M

Again, my blood pressure skyrocketed.  But luckily, the teacher I’m covering walks back into the room.

Ah Mrs. Reenay! I’m so HAPPY to see you.  I have so much to tell you about the work that your students did, and you must be filled in on what Elle Marie accomplished…..:)

Tell me friends, what do YOU do when your blood pressure boils?


Leave a comment

Filed under Awkward, Disrespectful, Education, Teenagers

Leave a Reply

